Two proposals for garden layout – to discuss with the other seven tenement owners/tenants. I’m keeping in mind citizen’s income as a theme for the design.  What does that mean?  I’m not sure yet.  I think the meaning will unfold.

I’m inspired by  Ian Hamilton Findlay’s Little Sparta Garden, which he and his wife Sue evolved over twenty five years from 1966, until they separated and he continued till he died in 2006. He is often described as a poet and conceptual artist and the garden considered as a philosophical, poetical garden.  Over years of contemplation I’ve come to another reading (my fantasy) – a young soldier’s way of dealing with the horrors of war, an existential life line.  He joined the British Army in 1942 at the age of 16 or 17. What did he see and experience? Did working in the garden with culture and nature as his raw materials bring him to a place of Harmony?  I’m aware this is a more emotional reading than others, but I’ve always thought that the best art is both conceptual and emotional.

